John Zorn / The Urmuz Epigrams




With “The Urmuz Epigrams” Zorn returns to his roots, using the recording studio as instrument to create an intensely personal suite of compositions in the style of his legendary File Card compositions and Zoetropes. Dedicated to the visionary Romanian writer Urmuz whose small, scattered body of work predated Dadaism by decades, The Urmuz Epigrams is a suite of surrealistic miniatures more akin to philosophical aphorisms than actual music. The pieces are presented here in two iterations, as a set of “rare 78rpm records” complete with surface scratches and limited dynamic range, and as a modern reconstruction of same with the full blown studio sound presented in all its perplexing glory. Some of the craziest music in the Zorn catalog!


CHES SMITH, drums, percussion, vibes
JOHN ZORN, sa, piano, organ, guitar, bass


01. Disgusted with Life
02. This Piano Lid Serves as a Wall
03. ith Wet Clothes and Disheveled Hair He Wandered in the Dead of Night in Search of Shelter
04. Then Again, Who Amongst us can Complain
05. A Rain of Threats and Screams
06. The Pelican or the Pelicaness
07. After That the Funnel Became a Symbol
08. Desperate from Having Been Left without a Bladder

Close Menu